Night Ride

I went on an amazing night ride last night. The moon was bright and when we crested the mountain it was as if the world was lit up. I’d turn a corner, enter a canyon, and I couldn’t see anything. Velvet was quiet, walking, relaxed most of the night. It gave me a lot of confidence in her. I hoped her night vision was as good as Andi said it was since I couldn’t see anything. It was pitch black when Velvet just got something in her spirit and decided to tear up the mountain. She took off at the fastest gallop I’ve ever ridden. At first I tried to hold her back but I realized there was no way she wasn’t going to run so I just let her go and let her body become mine and Jesus Christ it was the most spiritual experience of my life. It was similar to having an orgasm only my thoughts were on God. I couldn’t see the ground. I couldn’t see the cliff edge. I couldn’t feel her hoofs hit the ground she was running so fast. I thought of the ruts and ravines and rocks from the recent rain and accepted that if we hit one and went over the side well then, it wasn’t such a bad way to go.

She didn’t hit any ruts or ravines. She didn’t stumble or hesitate. She just sailed clear and fast up to the top and stood there catching her breath before walking, quietly, back down the mountain. There weren’t any other near-death experiences to report. No mountain lions, rattlesnakes, bears or pit-bulls. There were only crickets and the quiet of my mind determined, more and more each moment of clarity, to live life with grace and love and joy.

And a photograph. I couldn’t help but snap a photo of the moment.

This entry was posted in Horses, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

