Holy Bag!

I have literally been obsessing over bags. Apparently, I’m not the only one. The internet is good for helping people know they’re not the only one of anything. It doesn’t seem to matter what I look up there’s usually a plethora of blogs, experts and businesses designed around the topic- no matter how obscure.

Of course bag obsession is hardly an obscure subject matter. While I realize the total shallowness of the passion, I still can’t pull myself away from it. I’ve been reading all about bags, designs, classics, culture, fashion, design and women. What I’ve found most interesting in all of this research are the three bags (apparently) every woman needs to own. This fascinates me because while I see thousands of bags in stores, online and on shoulders, I feel like there are hardly any to choose from. When it comes to getting specific, suddenly I can’t find what I want (or am shocked at the sticker price) and feel like everything else is just basically homogenous.

But then there’s the list. The list of three bags that for whatever reason are so spectacularly designed, each with its own history attached to its shape, purpose and aesthetic, that they stand out amongst the rest. They cannot be substituted. It’s like the three world leaders that have spanned time and geography so much that they leave impact years, decades, even centuries after their death. What comes into place to make these three stand out is a series of circumstances that cannot be duplicated.

Inevitably the question of who decides which three bags are the ultimate must-haves and why is apt to be raised. So let me answer it now: me. After exhibiting what my husband calls classic signs of O.C.D. I have read and re-read and over-read so many articles and opinions on which bags to choose that the answer has been clear. These three just keep popping up no matter who’s talking.

So I’m not saying that every woman really needs to own all of these bags, but don’t you at least want to know what they are?

1. Hermes Birkin bag
Made by Hermes for Jane Birkin after an airplane flight together and a discussion about the perfect bag, this is THE bag that apparently everyone in the world wants but only five a week are made. The waiting list is around two years and the price starts at $6,000

2. Chanel 2.55
This classy flap bag was designed by Coco Chanel herself in 1955 and I’ve read all kinds of stories about is origins. Most notably that the quilting was based on the window frames in the orphanage she came from- or was it the uniform on the French sailors? Hmm… As far as price and availability goes,  I’d suggest you buy it at the Chanel boutique on the Champs-Elysees (or Rodeo Drive or Park Avenue for that matter). I can’t figure out exactly how much you’ll have to fork over since they don’t seem to be available online but I’m guessing around $2,000.

3. Louis Vuitton Speedy
After celebrating over 100 years of being truly the most popular classic designer bag, the Speedy well-deserves its status as a must-have because it’s an iconic fashion accessory, highly functional in size, durability and overall design, and it’s available anywhere in the world for a mere $775.

Happy shopping ladies!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Bag!

  1. Sheila says:

    How funny…I just ordered all three yesterday. — NOT!

    Love this post, Tiprin!

Leave a Reply

