The Capitol

If I wasn’t keeping track of time I’d be blown away that it’s already time to go. It feels a little silly that I was worried I’d be here too long when it’s so obvious that I haven’t been here long enough. I spend weeks and months and years at home, this was my chance to be away. I can’t imagine worrying about a day or two extra. It’s hard to believe that it’s already time for me to zip all my luggage back up and head out for a dark and very early or very late (depending on how you look at it) trip back to the airport.

Italy is next, via L.A. I’ll have to fly back to catch my plane to Europe. It seemed silly and maybe even brutal when it was all coming together but now I’m happy about it. I don’t mind having the time alone.

Yesterday was another whirlwind day. After a fast and focused coffee with an old friend there were frozen hot chocolates at Serendipity and gardening at Battery Park and finally “Motherfu**ker with the Hat” on Broadway. Dinner at Chez Josephine and a walk in the dark. Those were the main events. But there were so many details in between just as memorable. The bride in Times Square, the memories I have of Serendipity with my newborn son on my lap, or being signed by the manager I’d only dreamed of having at Chez Josephine. This city is so intense, so dense, not only on its own but in my life. I wonder if there’s a map drawn somewhere in our soul that connects us to specific places on the planet. If there is, I know this place is undoubtedly my capitol center.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Capitol

  1. Sheila says:

    WOW! fantastic…need to hear more…and now Italy? Ah, so happy for you!

    p.s. going to NYC in August and would love to see Motherfu**ker but I’ll have the kids. Drats. Guess we’ll have to see lame Marry Poppins.

Leave a Reply

