Suze Rotolo

Suze Rotolo died over the weekend. I was surprised to hear that today. She was only 67.

The articles and blogs I read about her all described her as Bob Dylan’s girlfriend. She was Bob Dylan’s girlfriend, not his wife, or the mother of his children. But she was also the inspiration to some of his songs and she’s on the cover of his Freewheelin’ album. I was wondering how she would feel to know that upon her death people would write about her relationship with Bob Dylan when she was 22 years old. I guess she’d be ok with it since one of her last major projects was her memoir about that time.

I wonder how I’d feel about that. I guess I wouldn’t be that happy about it. I guess I’d rather not think the most word-worthy event of my life has already occurred on the back of someone else’s life. Hm. I know it’s Bob Dylan. But still…

Then again the only reason I know who she is is because of Bob Dylan. The only reason she has any connection whatsoever to any of the numerous perfect strangers writing about her early death is Bob Dylan. I don’t know if that makes it okay or not. But anyway, I just wanted to say that I noticed she passed. I wonder if Dylan did?

I had the most amazing ride on Velvet today. I got to the ranch right when the ferrier had first pulled her out. We talked and I groomed her while he gave her new shoes. When he was done we stood around talking some more. She moved around a bit but she couldn’t go far being as she was still tied to the post. She moved her hind end in little half circles. She pawed. She put her ears back. She was totally silent but we knew what she was saying. “STOP TALKING AND PAY ATTENTION TO ME!!” There was no denying her. Body language is amazing, really, it’s amazing.

So I stopped talking and I tacked her up and took her out for a ride. We had so much fun. I could tell the fresh air and new grass was just as good for her as it was for me. We went way out down the trail where we were totally alone. Without a cue she put her face to the wind and we both just stood there for a while in the forest listening to the river run.

When we got back to the ranch, I decided not to direct her. She didn’t go back to the rail. She went the other way. I let her go. She ran straight into her stall and up to her feedbin. I laughed, took her saddle off, and thanked God for such a morning.

 

This entry was posted in Horses, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Suze Rotolo

  1. Alisa says:

    beautiful Tiprin…I was riding right along with you and could feel that wind. Would love to ride with you sometime. Guess what? We have an opportunity to see Cavalia this weekend. Because of what you wrote, I am thrilled to go 😉

Leave a Reply

