Homemaker Madness

Sometimes I get a little homemaker-crazy. Today is one of those days. I’m feeling the do-it-yourself spirit and relying on the wisdom of others to make it happen here. For instance, I’m testing out my own homemade laundry detergent and dishwasher detergent (the irony isn’t lost on me here – I realize I should just be washing the dishes myself). I’m shaving bars of Bronners, stirring up borax and elbow-deep in soda. What will come out of all this? I have no idea. Possibly some dirty streaked dishes and stiff clothes.

I also have a new dessert that is so healthy and loved by my children that I feel compelled to share it. It’s an adapted version of a recipe by Michele Urvater, who will never know how her cooking has informed my life and nourished my children. I call it “Orange Dessert” because anything with the word “dessert” in it my children are eager to try and well…I truly believe the name is what got my kids to eat oranges when none of them would before.

Orange Dessert:

Peel and dice oranges into bite-sized squares. Sprinkle a teaspoon of sugar with a teaspoon of the Neilsen-Massey’s Vanilla PASTE (no alcohol in this version- I prefer the taste and texture).

Serve.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

