Princess Curls

I don’t remember where I read or who told me that women should share the result but never the strategy. I was clearly reminded of this today when I tried implementing a new beauty ritual. It came to me from a lovely Japanese woman at our parent education class. She has the most glamorous long spiraled curls I’ve ever seen. One day I finally decided to ask her about them. She shared the technique, assured me it was simple and easy, and six months later I’m ready to give it a try.

It’s not a secret, really, it’s just good old-fashioned curlers worn overnight that supposedly make the most luxurious curls. So I dutifully rolled up all of my hair, looked in the mirror, laughed at how ridiculous I looked, and thought maybe I should abandon the project. Maybe it isn’t worth looking this bad at night just to look a little better in the morning. But then I decided that the only people who would see me in this state are the kids and knowing them, they wouldn’t even notice. So I left the curlers in and went on with the evening. Boy, was I wrong. Elkin took one look at me and said, “Mama, you are a princess!”

This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Princess Curls

  1. sheila says:

    Picture…pretty please?

  2. mama66 says:

    oh yes, we need a picture. You’ll have to do it again, Princess!

Leave a Reply

