Best You Can Be Mystery

I’ve noticed that as soon as I think I figure something out, the circumstances change and the whole thing becomes a mystery again. That seems to be the case with all the characters on my stage. I can’t keep a handle on whether they’re coming or going, cast or under studies, permanent fixtures or ships in the night. My life feels like it’s one big improvisation and some scenes work out better than others but anyway there’s no one right way to do it and certainly no certainties to keep it going well. There’s just acceptance of what is on stage at the moment and working with it/him/her/them as best as I can.

That’s really an overused and under-appreciated expression. The best you can do is so extraordinary, really. Imagine if everyone really was the best they could be all the time. I hardly can recall a moment of my day when I did something truly to the absolute best of my abilities. That must be the secret to the heavenly barbecue sauces and mellifluous symphonies of the world. They all happened in the real best-you-can-do moments. I wonder what could come out of mine?

Maybe I’ve just solved another mystery- for the moment.

This entry was posted in Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best You Can Be Mystery

  1. Eugene Topalian says:

    Superlatives are big rocks we carry and they tend to be heavy, and so do in relative sizes most adjectives, if not all, life is just is, no need for adjectives, which are most of the time evaluations, judgments, and certainly no need for superlatives, so next time, let’s just say instead of ‘the best you can be’ ( I , we ), and ‘be good’, just ‘let it be’, ( and the beatles would agree), so until next time, be be be be be be be be…
    Eugene

Leave a Reply

