Start Stop Rest Read

I started this needlepoint in 1997. While reorganizing my sewing supplies the other day I came across it. I have a few projects like this one, projects that I’ve put time and energy into but haven’t completed. This one looks like it’s pretty close, but it isn’t. There’s plenty of petit point to fill in as well as some larger areas of bargello. I have no idea if I can get this wool anymore, and I’ve got one pitiful little skein left. The reason it’s never been finished is because the background color is the same as the canvas. There’s virtually no joy in watching every stitch blend into the background. It makes the work feel unnecessary. You can already see what it’s going to look like when it’s done. It’s almost as if it’s done enough, if there is such a thing. I wonder if I should just mount it as is. Maybe looking at it everyday will remind me that I can choose to finish or start or study all the days of life left in me. There are no rules, really, are there? It’s my project after all, there’s no one to answer to but me.

I also tried to start a simple weaving project today. It didn’t work out either. I couldn’t get the warp and the weft to harmonize into a singular unit. The grass I gathered to use in basketry also failed to deliver. It broke and cracked as I tried to manipulate it into shape.

Orion is still sick so there hasn’t been any horseback riding. We’ve been at home, slow and quiet, letting rest be the main activity of the day. I’m falling asleep just thinking about it.

Some days are just like that, I guess. Time to pick up a book and drop out for a while. Speaking of which, I started Italian Shoes and yes, it’s as delicious as I thought it would be.

This entry was posted in Art, Needlepoint, Wool. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Start Stop Rest Read

  1. Eugene Topalian says:

    Unless there is some visual excitement that happens with filling in the background which I think is therewith the texture, no need to continue.
    I personally have enjoyed unfinished projectsnthat leave room fornthe imagination of the creator or the observer.
    Tackling the medium of choice is both frustrating and exhilirating. Pauses and silences in all things are so helpful for more creativity. It’s all good. Mom

Leave a Reply

