All in a day

The Tunisian stitch didn’t work out. I couldn’t figure it out. I know I’ve successfully worked it before on a blanket I made for Orion but I couldn’t remember how to do it. I’m back to the same boring half double stitch that works perfectly every time.

Dinner at IHOP resumed this evening. There were no interesting Lebanese to chat with, but there was an El Salvadorean couple. Maybe I can remember to ask and keep track of the various origins of fellow IHOP diners from now on. If I quilt the different flags together I might want to donate the result to the restaurant. So far it would look like this:

}}}}}}

No one and everyone is talking about the election. I wonder if the results really matter. I told my Dad that if a certain someone became president (and there are probably a lot of certain someones that this could apply to) I might need to leave the country. I’m not sure I can handle another reign of terror in Washington. Then again, it’s important to keep things in perspective. A bad president in this country has hardly the immediate effect of a bad monarch or dictator elsewhere. I suppose this may be one of those instances where I should be grateful to be where I am.

Has anyone read Henning Mankell’s Italian Shoes? My mother-in-law just passed it on to me. I know it had to have been riveting because she took it everywhere with her. That must be the single greatest compliment to any author, don’t you think? Imagine you write a novel that is so well loved that the reader replaces her favorite communication device with your black and white pages and chooses to go inward rather than outward for all her intellectual/emotional/physical/mental explorations that day. Imagine the novel is so gratifying/satisfying that she must pass it on immediately upon completion without explanation or request. A simple tiens- here- that no one can refuse.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

