Forever Feeling

Have you listened to “What a Wonderful World” lately? If you haven’t, I’m sure you can drum up the song and hum it to yourself. I wonder what you think of it. I’m pretty sure that if you’re in a good mood, you probably find it charming. If you’re not, it may be one of the saddest songs you’ve heard recently.

This makes me curious about our emotional perspective on life. Mine seems to be pretty erratic. I was wondering why my life is as full emotionally as it is. My search for answers, and consolation, led me to new research on the limbic system. Apparently, emotions are less mysterious than we might assume. There’s a whole system dedicated to making us feel and I’m guessing now that people who are really good at life have learned how to control it a bit.

I, on the other hand, find controlling emotions to be similar to controlling breathing. I can do it a little, but eventually the power of the spirit takes over and I feel again, breathe again.

Of course I realize that controlling breathing, or emotions, for that matter, doesn’t necessarily have to be stopping feeling, or breathing, it could mean slowing it down, speeding it up, manipulating the familiar pattern to something new. I don’t do that well either.

I guess I’m stuck then, for now. Or maybe forever. I have that feeling that forever is inevitable, but I know full-well that forever is anything but.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

